Health and Care Professions Council logo HCPC - Health and Care Professions Council
Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road, London, SE11 4BU
+44 (0)300 500 6184


The Council for Professions Supplementary to Medicine (CPSM) was replaced by the Health Professions Council on 1 April 2002, which became the Health and Care Professions Council on 1 August 2012.

CPSM logo

The CPSM was originally formed in 1960. Its role was to supervise the activities of the boards established to represent the health professions that the CPSM regulated: arts therapists, chiropodists/podiatrists, clinical scientists, dietitians, medical laboratory scientific officers (MLSOs), occupational therapists, orthoptists, prosthetists & orthotists, paramedics, physiotherapists, radiographers and speech & language therapists.

The CPSM had a council of 36 members, 12 were registered members of the 12 professions and were appointed by the Boards. Four lay members were appointed by the Privy Council and included a chairman, and one representative from Scotland and Wales and Northern Ireland. The Department of Health appointed 13 lay members who were not members of the registered professions and nine members were appointed by the medical Royal Colleges and the General Medical Council.

Complaints against state registered professionals were made to the Registrar at the CPSM either by a member of the public via a statutory declaration witnessed by a solicitor or by a proper person acting in a public capacity. The complaint if it was deemed to fall within the remit of the CPSM, was referred to the relevant Investigating Committee. If there was a case to be heard, it would be heard in an open public hearing of the Disciplinary Committee.

Please click here for historic registrant statistics