Aims and vision

Education and training
Tribunal Advisory Committee
Tribunal Advisory Committee members
Council and Committee meeting archive
Former Committees
Committee members
Education and training panel

Contact us
Customer service
HCPC data protection policy and privacy notice
Equality and diversity
How to find us
Freedom of Information
Professional liaison groups
We have changed our name
Welsh Language Scheme
Working with stakeholders
Home > About Us > Committees > Tribunal Advisory Committee members

Tribunal Advisory Committee members

Current members of the Tribunal Advisory Committee.

Catherine Boyd - Panel Chair member

Catherine has been involved in professional regulation for many years, including for the HCPC, NCTL and ICAEW, and previously for the GMC/MPTS and GCC.

Catherine is a lay advisor for several organisations overseeing medical and pharmaceutical education and is a lay representative on the Department for Health's Independent Investigations Governance Committee. She is a member of the Independent Ethics Committee for Policing established by the Greater Manchester Police and Crime Commissioner. She is a Magistrate and a school governor.

Catherine is a Chartered Manager and Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute. Catherine's earlier career included management roles with Marks and Spencer and in higher education.

Marcia Saunders - Independent member

An independent member, Marcia has had a long and varied career as an executive director in local government, as an NHS Chair and as a university lecturer and teacher. Recently retired from her role as independent chair of Health Education England North West London, she is a performance assessor for the GMC, a member of the MHRA's Independent Scientific Advisory Committee for the use of the Clinical Practice Research Database (CPRD) and a Governor and Pro-Chancellor at De Montfort University in Leicester. A dual national, Marcia has degrees in English Literature from Cornell and the University of Chicago and in health policy from Bristol University.

Alan Kershaw - Independent member

Alan has specialised in professional regulation since 1983. He has worked in both executive and non-executive roles, and now serves as a lay member of a range of professional bodies. He has been involved in standards setting for professional groups across the main sectors: healthcare, law, finance, property, science. He has experience in all parts of the regulatory process, with particular focus on standards and education, governance and strategy, and the effective handling of fitness to practise cases. He has published numerous articles on regulation in professional journals and has delivered papers at national and international conferences.

Graham Aitken - Panel Chair member

By profession Graham is a Chartered Accountant with more than 35 years of financial and management experience working within the commercial and professional services sectors and the Public Sector.

Graham has significant Non-Executive Director experience in the Social Housing, Further Education, Social Enterprise and NHS sectors and of public sector owned trading subsidiary companies of NHS and Local Government bodies.

He currently holds Non-Executive Director appointments with the One Manchester Housing Group and The Clatterbridge Pharmacy Limited (owned by The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust). Graham previously served as a Non-Executive Director on the Boards of NHS Trafford and NHS Manchester. Graham is also a serving Magistrate on the Manchester and Salford Bench.

He has been a HCPC Fitness to Practise Panel Chair since 2012.

Philip Geering - Panel Chair member

Philip Geering is a Barrister and his previous roles include being the Director of Policy at the Crown Prosecution Service and the Director of Strategy and Communications at the Independent Police Complaints Commissioner. He is currently a trustee and Board Member at the Internet Watch Foundation and works as a Tribunal/panel Chair with a number of professional regulatory and disciplinary bodies. Philip was appointed as a Chair at the HCPC in 2014.

Sheila Hollingworth - Independent member

After retiring from a career in the health service and higher education, Sheila has held a number of public appointments which have led to her sitting as a Magistrate and court chair, and of working with several professional regulators sitting as a panellist and chair of investigating, disciplinary and fitness to practice panels.

In addition Sheila is a member of the Bar Tribunal and Adjudication Service Strategic Advisory Board and chairs NHS England Performers List Decision Panels.

Print  Print page